تواصل معنا
المعارض والفعاليات

آمنة ياندربين

طلبنا من ضيوفنا اختيار طالب يرون ضرورة تسليط الضوء على أعماله ويرغبون في مشاركة موهبته مع العالم، ويعتقدون بأن اسمه سيصبح معروفا قريبا في قطر.

اكتشف اختيار الاستراتيجي الحضري جيسون تويل!

Yolkkh - حكاية شعبي

غالبا ما ينبع الفلكلور والخرافات والأساطير من الحكايات المتجذرة في الأحداث التاريخية. Yolkkh : مشروع صُمم ليروي قصة، حكايتي وحكاية شعب النوكشي. ويأتي المشروع على شكل أوشحة لغطاء الرأس، يصور كل وشاح منها مشهدا محددا في لحظة زمنية محددة. والنوكشي شعب يسميه الروس شعب الشيشان، وهي تسمية راجت في وسائل الإعلام الغربية. وكمسلمة شاهدت الطريقة التي تميل بها وسائل الإعلام الغربية إلى نزع الصفة الإنسانية عن مجتمعي. ومن خلال رواية حكاية عائلتي أسعى لمواجهة ميولات الإسلاموفوبيا وتحفيز التعاطف. تسلط قصة عائلتي الضوء على الجهود المبذولة للحفاظ على هويتنا النوكشية الأصلية رغم الأحداث الأليمة جدا والتي تشمل الحرب والتهجير والعنف والموت.

تبدأ القصة بطفولة أمي، وعندما يصل السرد إلى ذروته ينتقل التركيز من تجربة أمي إلى تجربتي الشخصية لتصور مشاهد من طفولتي وتستمر لتعكس رؤيتي للمستقبل. أسعى من خلال هذا المشروع إلى إعطاء صوت لمجتمع النوكشي ولنشر الوعي. إضافة لذلك أود أن ألهم ثقافات الأقليات الأخرى في جميع أنحاء العالم وضحايا الاضطهاد والعنصرية والاستعمار للوقوف ومشاركة قصصهم. يستخدم هذا المشروع رواية القصص و الحكايات كوسيلة لإعلام الجماهير والتواصل معهم بطرق قوية ومتعاطفة وإنسانية بطبيعتها.

يمثل هذا المشروع بداية رحلتي كمصمم وناشط وملتزم بإعطاء صوت للأقليات في جميع أنحاء العالم بغض النظر عن معتقداتها. أبدأ بسرد حكايتي على أمل أن يتبعني الآخرون.

yandarbina@
qatar.vcu.edu/bfa-mfa-thesis-2021/amna-yandarbin

السيرة الذاتية
جيسون تويل

مع مسيرته المهنية التي تمتد لأكثر من 22 عامًا في مجال تغير المناخ والتعليم والاستدامة والتنمية الحضرية، كان جيسون تويل في طليعة التحول الاجتماعي والبيئي والاقتصادي. كشركة رائدة معترف بها عالميًا في مجال الاستدامة، وصناعة المدن الإبداعية، والاستثمار المؤثر، والعدالة الاجتماعية ، تعمل أعمال جيسون على تطوير حلول الجيل التالي لعكس الاحتباس الحراري واستعادة صحة الكواكب. تشمل خبرته المهنية إدارة العديد من مشاريع التجديد الحضري الحائزة على جوائز في جميع أنحاء أمريكا الشمالية وآسيا والمحيط الهادئ، حيث عمل كمستشار لتغيير العالم لبول جي ألين، وشغل منصب رئيس الاستدامة في Lendlease أستراليا واستشارة الحكومات المحلية والوطنية بشأن تطوير وتحقيق العمل المناخي و استراتيجيات العدالة الاجتماعية.

يعمل جيسون حاليًا مدير مشروع البرنامج العام لمؤسسة قطر الخاص بكأس العالم، حيث يقود أهداف الاستدامة والإرث للمؤسسة فيما يتعلق باستضافة البلاد لكأس العالم لكرة القدم 2022.

جيسون هو محاضر منتظم في العديد من الجامعات في جميع أنحاء العالم، عمل سابقًا كزميل Runstad في جامعة واشنطن وزميل في البحوث المبتكرة في جامعة التكنولوجيا في سيدني حيث قاد أبحاث في التمدن المتجدد، والقدرة على تحمل تكاليف الإسكان، وحلول المعرفة الأصلية لمعالجة تغير المناخ.

وهو أحد المؤسسين في كل من معهد العيش المستقبلي العالمي و تحالف الرياضة الخضراء، وقد تم تعيينه كزميل LEED من قبل مجلس المباني الخضراء في الولايات المتحدة في عام 2014 وتم تسميته في 2015 و 2017 في طليعة المدينة العالمية الحضرية التالية. وهو عضو في مشروع الواقع المناخي (مجموعة 2009)، ومستشار سابق لمبادرة كلينتون للمناخ، وعضو اللجنة الاستشارية الوطنية لمشروع المناخ والعقل والسلوك التابع لمعهد Garrison وعضو المجلس الاستشاري للمعهد الدولي لمستقبل الحياة. انضم جيسون مؤخرًا إلى مجلس إدارة مؤسسة Cloudburst وهو مستشار استراتيجي لـ Common Earth، وهي مبادرة تقودها دول الكومنولث لعكس ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري من خلال التنمية المتجددة.

urban_apostles@

عن المشروع المختار: ”Yolkkh - حكاية شعبي“

تجذب هذه القطعة مباشرة انتباه المشاهد نظرا للألوان والأنماط المدهشة التي تذكّرنا بأسلوب هيرمس تقريبا. ثم يتحول بسرعة هذا الانطباع السطحي العابر حيث ينجذب المشاهد إلى حكاية أعمق تتعلق بالاستعمار والأسرة والنزاع والفقدان واللجوء والهوية الثقافية. تحقق الفنانة توازنا دقيقًا بين مشاركتنا قصة شخصية للغاية تمثل محنة وحياة شعبها وبين منح المشاهد إحساسا بأنّ إنتاج هذا العمل كان عملية شفاء في حد ذاته. والأوشحة/أغطية الرأس في حد ذاتها جذابة وعملية وتمثل بشكل جميل رواية القصص والنضال من خلال الموضة.

تحقق الفنانة توازنا دقيقًا بين مشاركتنا قصة شخصية للغاية تمثل محنة وحياة شعبها وبين منح المشاهد إحساسا بأنّ إنتاج هذا العمل كان عملية شفاء في حد ذاته.

جيسون تويل
Jason Twill, Urban Strategist, World Cup Doha, Qatar Foundation, VCUarts Qatar
Urban strategist Jason Twill, ©Jason Twill
Amna Yandarbin, 'Yolkkh – The Story of My People', MFA in Design, 2021 ©Raviv Cohen, VCUarts Qatar

ماجستير الفنون الجميلة في التصميم بجامعة فرجينيا كومنولث كلية فنون التصميم في قطر هو برنامج مدته سنتين للحصول على درجة الدراسات العليا في أبحاث التصميم التطبيقي متعدد التخصصات. نقوم بتدريب الطلاب على فهم فهم الجماهير والمتعاونين والعملاء بطرق مبتكرة، أصلية وأصيلة، تجمع بين ممارسة جوانب من استوديو الفنون الجميلة، والغرافيك، والحرف الرقمية، والعمارة، وتصميم الأزياء والمنتجات ليحصلوا في نهاية المطاف على تعليم مهجن وشامل.
يحتاج المصممون، وبشكل متزايد إلى التنقل بين مختلف التخصصات ودمجها مما يسمح باستخدام أفضل للموارد، والعمل بمرونه وتكيف في ابتكار بيئات وصور ورسائل ومنتجات جديدة. تكمن قوة برنامجنا في قدرته على دعم الاهتمامات الفردية والفريدة لكل طالب، وتوفير تعليم متخصص ومصمم خصيصًا لكل فرد.

احمد المعتز بالله نور
آمنة سناء
آمنة زيلمخى يندربي
ندى عبارة
ندي رأفت الخراشي
نيا ألكسندر كامبل
يون جيونج هونج

الأساتذه:
راب ماكلور (مدير البرنامج)
جيوفاني إنيلا، ماركو برونو، مايكل ويرتز، ريما أبو حسن، روبرت بيانكي، ستيلا كولاليو و ياسمين سليمان

Amna Yandarbin, 'Yolkkh – The Story of My People', MFA in Design, 2021 ©Amna Yandarbin, VCUarts Qatar

راب ماكلور، مدير برنامج الماجستير

Yolkkh – حكاية شعبي، عمل لآمنة ياندربين، مشروع له حضور وجاذبية لا يخفيان عن الأنظار. إحدى عشرة وشاحا تجمع بين الرسوم التوضيحية والرقمية والمرسومة يدويًا على الحرير، تستخدم هذه الأوشحة مادة خفيفة وحساسة لسرد قصة مروعة ومفجعة لشعب تم تشريده وترحيله، وقصص الفقد والخسارة، وكيف أُجبر على التكيف وتحمل الصعاب. يأتي كل وشاح غنيا بالألوان والتفاصيل والتنوع والإبداع، أوشحة تجلب انتباهنا وتشدنا إليها بثبات. أما الزخارف الساحرة والجميلة فتلقي الضوء على القوة المدمرة الكامنة في أسوأ النزوات الإنسانية، وفي نفس الوقت توحي بالعزاء والأمل وتحتفي كذلك بقوة الأسرة والروابط الثقافية والاجتماعية والحقيقة والنضال.

Exhibition View, BFA + MFA 2021 ©Raviv Cohen, VCUarts Qatar
عدد رقم
0

المواهب الخام

مايو–أغسطس ٢٠٢١
error: Content is protected !!

Explore new perspectives on art and design from
our community and our international contributors

تعرف على معارضنا وفعالياتنا الحالية والسابقة

تواصل معنا
المعارض والفعاليات

Amna Yandarbin

We asked special guests to choose a student whose work must be highlighted, whose talents they want to share with the world and whose names we’ll all soon know in Qatar.

Discover urban strategist Jason Twill's pick!

Yolkkh – The Story of My People

Folklore, myth and legend often spring from stories rooted in historic events. Yolkkh is a project designed to tell a story—my story and the story of the Noxci people. It takes the form of silk headscarves, each one illustrating a specific scene and moment in time. Noxci are the people who Russians refer to as, “Chechens;” a label picked up by the Western media. As a Muslim, I have witnessed the way the Western media tends to dehumanize my community. By telling the story of my family I seek to counteract Islamophobic tendencies and engender empathy. The story of my family highlights efforts to preserve our native Noxci identity, despite the most painful events, including war, migration, violence and death.

The visual story begins with my mother’s childhood. As the narrative reaches its climax, the focus shifts from my mother’s experience to my own, depicting scenes from my childhood and continuing through to visions of my future. Through this project I seek to give a voice to the Noxci community and to spread awareness. Furthermore, I wish to inspire other minority cultures worldwide—oppressed victims of racism and colonization—to stand up and share their stories. Yolkkh posits storytelling as a way to inform and connect with audiences in powerful, empathetic and inherently human ways.

This project marks the beginning of my journey as a designer-activist, committed to giving voice to minorities worldwide, regardless of faith. I start by telling my story, hoping that others will follow.

@yandarbina
qatar.vcu.edu/bfa-mfa-thesis-2021/amna-yandarbin

Jason Twill
biography

With a career spanning over 22 years’ in climate change, education, sustainability and urban development, Jason Twill has been at the forefront of social, ecological, and economic transformation. A globally recognised leader in sustainability, creative city making, impact investing, and social justice, Jason’s work is advancing next generation solutions to reverse global warming and restore planetary health. His career experience includes managing multiple award-winning urban regeneration projects throughout North America and Asia Pacific, serving as a world change advisor to Paul G. Allen, serving as Head of Sustainability for Lendlease Australia and consulting local and national governments on developing and implementing climate action and social equity strategies.

Jason is currently serving as Director, World Cup Master Program at the Qatar Foundation where he is leading the Foundation’s sustainability and legacy objectives pertaining to the country’s hosting of the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Jason is a regular lecturer at multiple universities across the globe and previously served as a Runstad Fellow at the University of Washington and Research Innovation Fellow at the University of Technology Sydney where he led research into regenerative urbanism, housing affordability, and indigenous knowledge solutions to address climate change.

He is a co-founder of both the International Living Future Institute and the Green Sports Alliance, was designated a LEED Fellow by the United States Green Building Council in 2014 and named a 2015 and 2017 Next City Global Urban Vanguard. He is a member of the Climate Reality Project (2009 cohort), a former advisor to the Clinton Climate Initiative, a National Advisory Committee member of the Garrison Institute’s Climate, Mind and Behaviour Project and Advisory Board member for the International Living Future Institute. Jason recently joined the board of the Cloudburst Foundation and is a strategic advisor to Common Earth, an initiative led by the Commonwealth of Nations to reverse global warming through regenerative development.

@urban_apostles

 

About the Selected Project: 'Yolkkh – The Story of My People'

This piece immediately commands the attention of the viewer given the striking colors and patterns that evoke an almost Hermes style to them. This ephemeral surface-level curiosity quickly transitions, however, as the viewer is pulled into a deeper story of colonization, family, conflict, loss, refugeeism, and cultural identity. The artist strikes a delicate balance between sharing a very personal life story, representative of the story and plight of her people, and gives the viewer a sense that producing this work was a healing process in itself. The scarves themselves are attractive and functional, and beautifully represent storytelling and activism through fashion.

The artist strikes a delicate balance between sharing a very personal life story representative of the story and plight of her people and gives the viewer a sense that producing this work was a healing process in itself.

Urban strategist Jason Twill
Jason Twill, Urban Strategist, World Cup Doha, Qatar Foundation, VCUarts Qatar
Urban strategist Jason Twill, ©Jason Twill
Amna Yandarbin, 'Yolkkh – The Story of My People', MFA in Design, 2021 ©Raviv Cohen, VCUarts Qatar

The Master of Fine Arts in Design at VCUarts Qatar is a two-year graduate degree in applied interdisciplinary design research. We train students to understand audiences, collaborators and clients in original and authentic ways, combining aspects of fine art studio practice, graphics, digital craft, architecture, fashion and product design, to form a hybridized education.

Designers, increasingly, need to navigate between and blend disciplines, maximizing resources and working adaptively to create new environments, visuals, messaging and products. Our program’s strength lies in its ability to support each student’s unique interests, providing a custom education, tailored to each individual.

Ahmed Nour
Amna Sana
Amna Yandarbin
Nada Abarra
Nada Raafat Elkharashi
Nia Alexander Campbell
Yeon Geong Hwang

Faculty:
Rab McClure, Director
Robert Bianchi, Marco Bruno, Stella Colaleo, Reema Abu Hassan, Giovanni Innella, Yasmeen Suleiman and Michael Wirtz

Amna Yandarbin, 'Yolkkh – The Story of My People', MFA in Design, 2021 ©Amna Yandarbin, VCUarts Qatar

Rab McClure, Department Director

Yolkkh — The Story of My People, by Amna Yandarbin, is a project of undeniable presence and gravity. Combining digital and hand-drawn illustrations on silk, these eleven scarves employ a paradoxically light and delicate material to relate a decidedly heavy and harrowing tale of displacement, relocation, loss, disorientation, adaptation and perseverance. The individual scarves are rich with color, detail, variety and ingenuity; they demand our attention and steadfastly hold it. The hauntingly beautiful illustrations illuminate the destructive power of humanity’s worst impulses, while also—ultimately—offering solace and hope, celebrating the power of family, cultural bonds, community, raw truth and activism.

Exhibition View, BFA + MFA 2021 ©Raviv Cohen, VCUarts Qatar
ISSUE No.
0

The RAW Talent

MAY–AUG
2021
error: Content is protected !!

Explore new perspectives on art and design from
our community and our international contributors

تعرف على معارضنا وفعالياتنا الحالية والسابقة

تعرف على وجهات نظر في الفن والتصميم من مساهمينا في ارجاء العالم