تواصل معنا
المعارض والفعاليات

حدّه البحر

10 نوفمبر الى 8 ديسمبر 2019

افتتاح المعرض

10 نوفمبر 2019، الساعة 5:30 مساءً

القيم على

فارفارا شافغوفا

الفنانين

هليل التندري، نضال شامخ، محمد سامي، تاوس مخاتشيفا، سوزان ستوكويل و فارفارا شافغوفا

الموقع​

معرض الجامعة، جامعة فرجينيا كومنولث

شكر خاص ​

معرض باتريك هايد للفن المعاصر ، لندن ، معرض يورك للفنون ، يورك ومعرض بايلوت ، اسطنبول

يجمع معرض ”حدّه البحر“ أعمال فنانين عالميين يعالجون قضايا اللاجئين والحدود والهجرة والهوية الوطنية. يشكك الفنانون في معنى القومية والحركة الحرة والدمج والإقصاء بالاعتماد على الروايات التاريخية والمعاصرة التي تشكل الهوية والرأي.

باستخدام لغة الرسم والنحت والفيديو والتركيب والواقع الافتراضي، يستكشف الفنانون بعض التجارب والعواطف المعقدة المرتبطة بالحدود والهجرة وانعدام الجنسية والانتماء. لا تقدم الأعمال المعروضة في المعرض حلولا لأزمة المهاجرين، بل تسترعي الانتباه إلى التحديات التي يواجهها المهاجرون بطريقة هادفة.

تم تقديم معرض حده البحر في كل من باتريك هايد للفن المعاصر في لندن، جاليري يورك آرت في يورك، المملكة المتحدة والآن في منتدى حمد بن خليفة في الفن الإسلامي – البحار وحركة الفن الإسلامي. يبحث هذا المؤتمر في المقام الأول في تنقل الثقافة المادية – الأشياء أو المباني، شكلهم، ومكوناتهم، ومن صنعهم ومن استهلكهم.

Taus Makhacheva, 'Baida (still)', Performance was scripted by Tim Etchells. Performed by Zubair Dzhavatkhanov and Artem Krupin. Voices: Deborah Pearson. Video 15min 31s, 16:9 format, Madeleine Botet de Lacaze and Andy Field. Production supported by Gazprombank and Art Finance, Moscow, 2017. ©Taus Makhacheva

حدّه البحر

بقلم فارفارا شافغوفا

منذ عام 2015، أصبحت صور اللاجئين والمهاجرين الذين يحاولون عبور البحر الأبيض المتوسط في سفن مكتظة غير آمنة تسيطر على وسائل الإعلام، وأصبحت رموزا قوية ”لأزمة المهاجرين“. ومع ذلك، يمكن الطعن في مصطلح ”أزمة المهاجرين“، لأن معنى كلمة ”أزمة“ يعني ضمنيًا وضعًا مؤقتًا، وبالتالي يتطلب اتخاذ تدابير وحلول مؤقتة. الواقع مختلف. فمن المتوقع ألا تستمر الهجرة إلى أوروبا فحسب، بل ستزداد، مما يخلق ما يمكن وصفه ب ”حالة الهجرة“. إن الموقف المستمر للمهاجرين الذين تمكنوا من النجاة من الرحلات الشاقة عبر البحار هو في الغالب موقفا هشا وخطرا من عدم اليقين. يقف اللاجئون والمهاجرون على حدود القبول المجتمعي ويصبحون بدون جنسية وبدون إقامة في العالم. يمكن تفسير البحر على أنه استعارة للموقف المجتمعي تجاه المهاجرين والذي، من ناحية، يبقيهم طافيًا دون توفير الأمان أو الملجأ، ومن ناحية أخرى، يولد استمرارية الشعور بالزمن ”لحالة المهاجرين“. تتحول العداوة إلى لامبالاة، وهي الحدود الأخيرة التي يتم فيها تحدي الحياة البشرية وقيمتها، ومن ثم تقويضها.

في إشارة إلى التصادم الحاد بين التوقعات والواقع الذي يعيشه المهاجرون الذين يعبرون البحار بحثًا عن الأمان وحياة أفضل، يتناول الفنانون في معرض ”حدّه البحر“ هشاشة الحياة البشرية. يمثل البحر رمزا مجازيا لجميع تجارب الهجرة والشتات، حيث تمثل الرحلات المحفوفة بالمخاطر جسديا عبر القارات والبحار أيضا استمرارية الرحلات العاطفية، واقتلاع السكان وانفصالهم. لا تظهر نزع الملكية، والاغتراب والصدمات دائما في تجارب جسدية مباشرة، لكنها تجارب مألوفة لدى الكثير من المهاجرين كخلفية عاطفية للاضطراب البدني والانتقال القسري.

يضم معرض ”حدّه البحر“ فنانين عملوا في موضوع الهجرة والحدود والشتات لسنوات عديدة، وفي بعض الحالات لعقود، والعديد من الفنانين المشاركين هم أنفسهم من المهاجرين. باستخدام لغة الرسم والنحت والفيديو والتركيب والواقع الافتراضي، يستكشف الفنانون التجارب المعقدة والعواطف متعددة الطبقات المرتبطة بالحدود والهجرة وانعدام الجنسية والانتماء. لا يهدف الفنانون إلى تقديم الحلول، لكن بدلا من ذلك يلفتون الانتباه إلى هذه التحديات بطريقة هادفة.

The first version of 'The Sea is the Limit' at York Art Gallery. Highlighting the issues of migration, dispossession and borders. Pictured is artist and exhibition curator Varvara Shavrova in a work called 'Migrant Crisis'. ©Anthony Chappel-Ross

"يمثل البحر رمزا مجازيا لجميع تجارب الهجرة والشتات، حيث تمثل الرحلات المحفوفة بالمخاطر جسديا عبر القارات والبحار أيضا استمرارية الرحلات العاطفية، واقتلاع السكان وانفصالهم ."

-القيم على المعرض فارفارا شافغوفا
Mohammed Sami, 'Notes From Underground', Acrylic on linen, 2016, ©Mohamed Sami

السير الذاتية

halilaltindere_portrait_Alp Ilyas Klanten

@halilaltindere
halilaltindere.com

يستكشف هليل القوانين السياسية والاجتماعية والثقافية ويركز إلى حد كبير على تصوير التهميش ومقاومة الأنظمة القمعية. اعتبر هليل شخصية مركزية في عالم الفن التركي المعاصر منذ منتصف التسعينيات، ليس فقط كفنان، ولكن أيضا كمحرر وناشر ومنسق بارز.

عكس التندري مفاهيم الدولة القومية والسلطة من خلال العمل على الأشياء اليومية مثل بطاقات الهوية، الأوراق النقدية، والطوابع في إنتاجاته المبكرة، وبدأ التركيز على الثقافات الفرعية والجنس والمواقف الغريبة والحياة العادية للحياة اليومية بعد عام 2000 .تعمل الطبيعة الساخرة والسياسية لأعماله على جعلها في متناول الجمهور. تم إدراج أعماله في العديد من المعارض في دوكيستا، مانفستا، وبينالي في البندقية، واسطنبول، وغوانغجو، والشارقة وساو باولو، وكذلك في PS1 / MoMA في نيويورك.

Portrait Nidhal CHAMEKH ©Pol Guillard

@nidhal.chamekh
nidhal-chamekh.com

تخرج نضال من كلية الفنون الجميلة في تونس وجامعة السوربون بباريس. كان للحياة في تونس التي نشأ فيها واضطهاد عائلته النشطة، تأثير عميق على فنه، حيث يقوم برسم المساحات والثقافات معا.

يمكن اعتبار أعمال نضال أداة ”لعينات“ من فوضى تاريخنا. سيؤدي هذا في الواقع إلى وضع خطط يمكنها تشغيل ”خزعات من الفوضى“، لتشكل نوعا من الآثار الاجتماعية والثقافية. إنها أيضا طريقة لرؤية الأزمنة الاجتماعية في مساحة معينة من الاضطراب البصري من الواقع.

ُعرضت أعماله في معرض عيشي ترينالي الثالث – 2016، في بينشوان ينتشوان – 2016، وفي بينالي فينيسيا السادس والخمسين – 2015، بينالي داكار الحادي عشر – 2014، معهد الفن العربي، ذا هود للفن، آرت بازل، معرض الفن الإفريقي، المركز الوطني للفن الحي في تونس، جاليري سيلما فيرياني، وجاليري بريمو ماريال.

1080x1080px-100

@mohammedsamistudio
mohammedsami.com

درس محمد الرسم والتصوير في معهد الفنون الجميلة، العراق، بغداد، عام 2005. هاجر إلى السويد عام 2007. حصل على بكالوريوس الآداب مع مرتبة الشرف عام 2015 من مدرسة بلفاست للفنون في جامعة أولستر في إيرلندا الشمالية، أكمل درجة الماجستير في الفنون الجميلة من جولدسميث، جامعة لندن عام 2018.

تؤكد لوحات محمد على التأثير النفسي للصدمة فيالذاكرة. بدلا من استخدام الصدمة كدليل على الصراع في العراق والذي شهده الفنان بنفسه، نشر محمد اللوحة كأداة مضللة لتوصيل شيء يتجاوز الوصف الصريح للصدمة أو اللغة. تتكرر المشاهد الداخلية/ الخارجية في أعمال محمد واسعة النطاق، حيث تصبح الأشياء اليومية والضوء والظلال محفزات مستمرة يتفاوض من خلالها مع الماضي والحاضر، مما يمنح الغائب حضورا واضحا في أعماله.

تم اختيار أعمال سامي لمعرض بلومبرج المعاصر الجديد عام 2018 ،والذي شارك في جولة إلى بينالي ليفربول ومعرض جنوب لندن. عرض سامي أعماله أيضًا في معرض مستقبل FBA في جاليريز مول في لندن عام 2019. أما معارضه الفردية فتشمل جاليري جام للفنون في الكويت، 2013،جاليري داغ أندرسون، نورشوبينغ – السويد، 2012، جاليري الخانجي، حلب – سوريا، 2006، وصالة الوسيطي بغداد، العراق. حصل سامي على جائزة هوتينجر للتميز عام 2019 في مول جاليريز في لندن. في عام 2016، حصل سامي على جائزة البكالوريوس – الفائز العالمي في فئة الفنون البصرية والتصميم – في دبلن، أيرلندا. وفي عام 2015، حصل على جائزة الثقافة من منطقة أوسترجوتلاند ، السويد. يتم إدراج أعمال سامي في مجموعات متحف يورك ومجموعة الحكومة الفنية في المملكة المتحدة. يعيش سامي ويعمل في لندن.

Taus Makhacheva photo by Aleksandr Vainshtein for Eto Kavkaz

@tausmakhacheva

درست تاوس في كلية لندن للاتصالات من عام 2002 إلى 2003 ، جامعة الفنون في لندن. تخرجت في عام 2006 في الاقتصاد العالمي من جامعة الدولة الروسية للعلوم الانسانية. في 2007، أكملت برنامج البكالوريوس في الفن المعاصر في جولدسميث، جامعة لندن. درست خلال الفترة من 2008 إلى 2009 الاستراتيجيات الفنية الجديدة في معهد الفن المعاصر في موسكو. حصلت في عام 2013 على درجة الماجستير في الفن المعاصر من الكلية الملكية للفنون في لندن.

تم إدراج فيلم ”The Fast and the Furious“ عام 2011 والذي قامت به كجزء من مشروعها الرئيسي لبينالي موسكو الرابع للفن المعاصر، والذي قام بتنظيمه بيتر ويبل. وفي نفس العام، تم إدراج اسمها في القائمة القصيرة لجائزة كاندنسكي عن فئة: مشروع العام في الفن الإعلامي. كما حصلت على جائزة الابداع في الفن المعاصر عن فئة: الجيل الجديد عام 2012. شاركت في بينالي ليفربول. عرضت أعمالها عام 2013 في بينالي الشارقة وفي البرنامج الخاص لبينالي البندقية. في عام 2014 كانت على القائمة القصيرة لجائزة الابتكار عن أفضل مشروع إقليمي لهذا العام مع استمرار معرض ”ستوري ديماندز“ وفازت بجائزة مستقبل أوروبا في متحف الفن المعاصر في لايبزيغ.

تدرج أعمالها في مجموعات في مودرن تيت – لندن، وMuHKA متحف موسكو للفن الحديث، والمركز الوطني للفنون المعاصرة في موسكو، مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، متحف جامزتوفا داغستان للفنون الجميلة؛ مجموعة غازبرومبانك، ومؤسسة وهبي كوج في اسطنبول، ومؤسسة يارات باكو، ومؤسسة كاديست للفنون في باريس وسان فرانسيسكو، ومجموعات في مؤسسة فيديو سايت ومتحف أبسالا كونست في تورينو، وكذلك العديد من المجموعات الخاصة في روسيا والخارج. تعيش وتعمل في موسكو وداغستان.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

@susanstockwell
susanstockwell.co.uk

تأخذ أعمال سوزان العديد من الأشكال، من الدراسات الصغيرة إلى المنحوتات الكبيرة الحجم والرسومات والكولاج. تهتم في المقام الأول بالتحول وقضايا الجغرافيا السياسية ورسم الخرائط والتجارة والبيئة والتاريخ. المواد المستخدمة هي المنتجات اليومية و المحلية والصناعية التي يمكن التخلص منها والتي تعم حياتنا. يتم التعامل مع هذه المواد وتحويلها إلى أعمال فنية غير عادية.

حصلت سوزان على درجة الماجستير في النحت من الكلية الملكية للفنون عام 1993 .ظهرت أعمالها في المعارض والمتاحف في جميع أنحاء العالم بما في ذلك مودرن تيت ومتحف فيكتوريا وألبرت في لندن و متاحف الفن في الولايات المتحدة كاتونا ونيوبرغروالمتحف الوطني الصيني في بكين. كما حصلت سوزان على العديد من المنح والزمالات والوكالات، مثل زمالة الفنانين الزائرين لتايوان والفن التايواني، ووكالة من جامعة بيدفوردشير، وبلاك روك للاستثمار، ومتحف الجيش الوطني. درست سوزان على نطاق واسع وشاركت في العديد من برامج الإقامة والمشاريع في أوروبا وأمريكا وأستراليا وآسيا. تعيش سوزان في لندن – المملكة المتحدة.

varvara-shavrova-photo_Marion Galt

@varvaravshavrova
varvarashavrova.com

فنان بصري وقيم على المعارض، ولدت في موسكو، الاتحاد السوفيتي، وتعيش وتعمل الآن في لندن ودبلن. تركز ممارساتها على استكشاف طبقات تاريخ عائلتها من خلال عمليات التذكر واستعادة وقص القصص.

من خلال إشراك الذاكرة والحنين إلى الماضي والانعكاس، تنشئ فارفارا تراكيب ومنشآت تربط بين الروايات التاريخية والحالية، بين الأرشيف والحاضر. تختبر فارفارا في أعمالها رموز القوة والسلطة بينما تبحث في علاقتها بالفرد وتشكك في إمكانية تجسيد الماضي في الحاضر من خلال عملية التعاطف. تعلق أهمية منشوراتها على عمل المرأة، وتشمل أشياء مصنوعة من الورق والخيط والغزل والنسيج، مع منهجيات الرسم وصناعة السجاد والنسيج الذي يلوح في الأفق والتطريز والحياكة.

درست فارفارا في معهد موسكو للطباعة وأكملت دراستها العليا في كلية جولدسميث، جامعة لندن.

توجد أعمال فارفارا في مجموعات فنية معاصرة مهمة، بما في ذلك متحف تاريخ سانت بطرسبرغ، روسيا؛ مؤسسة بالنغلن للفن، أيرلندا؛ وزارة الشؤون الخارجية، أيرلندا؛ متحف مينشنغ للفنون، بكين / شنغهاي، الصين؛ ومجموعة مومنتم ، برلين، ألمانيا. يمثل فارفارا باتريك هايد للفن المعاصر في لندن.

برامج عامة

9 و10 نوفمبر 2019 ― من 6 إلى 8 مساءً​

بينالي حمد بن خليفة الثامن حول الفن الإسلامي: البحار وحركة الفن الإسلامي

مغلق

10 نوفمبر 2019 ― من 5.30 إلى 7 مساءً​

حفل الافتتاح مع القيم الفني فارفارا شافروفا

مغلق

11 نوفمبر 2019 ― من 12.30 إلى 1.30 مساءً​

المسار الفني لمؤسسة قطر: جولة إرشادية مع القيم الفني فارفارا شافروفا

مغلق

12 نوفمبر 2019 ― من 12.30 إلى 1.30 مساءً​

محاضرة الفنانة فارفارا شافروفا لقسم الرسم والطباعة

مغلق

الفيديو​

افتتاح حفل ​​استقبال معرض "البحر هو الحد"

توس مخاتشيفا ، "بيدا" ، 2017

السلاسل الموازية

معرض الصور

error: Content is protected !!

Learn about our open and past events

Explore new perspectives on art and design from
our community and our international contributors

تعرف على معارضنا وفعالياتنا الحالية والسابقة

تواصل معنا
المعارض والفعاليات

The Sea is the Limit

From November 10 to December 7, 2019

Exhibit Opening

November 10, 2019 at 5:30pm

Curator(s)

Varvara Shavrova

Artist(s)

Nidhal Chamekh, Mohammed Sami, Taus Makhacheva, Susan Stockwell and Varvara Shavrova

Location

The Gallery at VCUarts Qatar

Acknowledgment

Patrick Heide Contemporary Art Gallery, London, York Art Gallery, York and PILOT Gallery, Istanbul
Image caption: ‘Traded Winds’ ©SusanStockwell 2016, ©photo SteveHickey 2016

The Sea is the Limit exhibition brings together works by international artists who are addressing the issues of refugees, borders, migration and national identity. Drawing on both historical and contemporary narratives that shape identity and opinion, the artists question the meaning of nationalism, free movement, inclusion and exclusion.

Using the language of painting, drawing, sculpture, video, installation and virtual reality, the artists explore some of the complex experiences and emotions associated with borders and migration, statelessness and belonging. The works in the exhibition do not offer solutions to the migrant crisis, but instead draw attention to its challenges in a meaningful way.

The exhibition was presented at Patrick Heide Contemporary Art, London, York Art Gallery, York, UK and now at The Seas and the Mobility of Islamic Art, the 8th Biennial Hamad bin Khalifa Symposium on Islamic Art. This conference looks primarily at the mobility of material culture–things or buildings, what they look like, what they are made of, and who made and consumed them.

Taus Makhacheva, 'Baida (still)', Performance was scripted by Tim Etchells. Performed by Zubair Dzhavatkhanov and Artem Krupin. Voices: Deborah Pearson. Video 15min 31s, 16:9 format, Madeleine Botet de Lacaze and Andy Field. Production supported by Gazprombank and Art Finance, Moscow, 2017. ©Taus Makhacheva

The Sea is the Limit

By Varvara Shavrova

Images of refugees and migrants attempting to cross the Mediterranean Sea in unsafe overcrowded vessels have been dominating the media since 2015 and have become powerful symbols of the “migrant crisis”. The term “migrant crisis” however, can be contested, as the meaning of the word “crisis” implies a situation that is temporary, and therefore requires temporary measures and solutions. The reality is different. Migration to Europe is expected not only to continue, but to increase, creating what can be described as a “migrant condition”. The ongoing position of migrants who managed to survive the arduous journeys across the seas is often that of precarity, danger and uncertainty. Refugees and migrants stand at the limits of societal acceptance and become stateless non-residents of the world. The sea can be interpreted as a metaphor for the societal attitude towards migrants which, on one hand, keeps them afloat without offering safety or refuge, and, on the other hand, engenders the persistence of the sense of temporality of the “migrant condition”. Hostility turns into indifference, the last frontier where human life and its value is challenged and undermined.

Referring to the sharp clash between the expectations and the realities experienced by migrants crossing the seas in search of safety and a better life, the artists in The Sea is the Limit exhibition address the fragility of human life. The sea serves as a metaphorical symbol of all migratory and diasporic experiences, where physically perilous journeys across the continents and the seas also represent continuous journeys of the emotional kind, an uprooting and a disconnection. Dispossession, alienation and trauma do not always manifest themselves in direct physical experiences, but are all too familiar to many migrants, as an emotional backdrop to the physical upheaval of forced transition.

The first version of 'The Sea is the Limit' at York Art Gallery. Highlighting the issues of migration, dispossession and borders. Pictured is artist and exhibition curator Varvara Shavrova in a work called 'Migrant Crisis'. ©Anthony Chappel-Ross

The sea serves as a metaphorical symbol of all migratory and diasporic experiences, where physically perilous journeys across the continents and the seas also represent continuous journeys of the emotional kind, an uprooting and a disconnection.

- Artist and Curator Varvara Shavrova
Mohammed Sami, 'Notes From Underground', Acrylic on linen, 2016, ©Mohamed Sami

Biographies

halilaltindere_portrait_Alp Ilyas Klanten

@halilaltindere
halilaltindere.com

Halil Altindere explores political, social, and cultural codes and focuses largely on depicting marginalization and resistance to oppressive systems. Altindere has been a central figure in the Turkish contemporary art world since the mid-1990s, not only as an artist but also as an editor, a publisher, and a prominent curator.

Altindere reversed the conceptions of the nation-state and authority through works on everyday objects such as identity cards, banknotes, and stamps in his early productions, and started to focus on subcultures, gender and odd-but-ordinary situations of everyday life after the 2000s. The ironic and political nature of his work makes it easily accessible to his audiences. His works have been included in exhibitions at Documenta, Manifesta, and Biennials in Venice, Istanbul, Gwangju, Sharjah, and São Paulo, as well as at MoMA/PS1, New York.

Portrait Nidhal CHAMEKH ©Pol Guillard

@nidhal.chamekh
nidhal-chamekh.com

Nidhal Chamekh graduated from the School of Fine Arts in Tunis, and Sorbonne University in Paris. The neighborhoods of Tunis where he grew up, and the persecution of his activist family, had a profound impact on his art, where he drew together spaces and cultures.

Chamekh’s work could be considered as a tool to “sample” the chaos of our history. This would in fact create plans that can operate certain “biopsies of chaos”, to constitute a kind of social and cultural archaeology. It is also a way of seeing social temporality in a given space of visual dislocation from reality.

His work has been exhibited at the 3rd Aïchi Triennale (2016), in the Yinchuan Biennial (2016), the 56th Venice Biennale (2015), the 11th Dakar Biennial (2014), The Institut du monde arabe, The Hood of Art, Art Basel, 1:54 African Art Fair, National Centre for Living Art in Tunis, the Selma Feriani gallery, and the Primo Marella Gallery.

1080x1080px-100

@mohammedsamistudio
mohammedsami.com

Mohammed Sami studied drawing and painting at the Institute of Fine Art, Iraq, Baghdad, 2005. He emigrated to Sweden in 2007. He earned a Bachelor of Arts with Honours in 2015 from the Belfast School of Art at Ulster University, in Northern Ireland, He completed his Master of Fine Arts degree at Goldsmiths, University of London, in 2018.

Mohammed Sami’s autobiographical paintings underline the psychological impact of trauma on memory. Rather than using trauma as a testimony to the Iraq conflict, he witnessed first-hand, the artist deployed painting as a delusive instrument to communicate something that goes beyond the explicit depiction of trauma or language. Interior/exterior scenes reoccur in Sami’s large-scale realistic works, where everyday objects, light, and shadow, become ongoing triggers he negotiates with the past and the present, giving the absent an apparent presence in his works.

Sami’s work was selected for the Bloomberg New Contemporaries 2018 exhibition, which went on tour to the Liverpool Biennial and the South London Gallery. Sami also exhibited at the FBA Futures at the Mall Galleries in London in 2019. Solo exhibitions include JAMM ART Gallery, Kuwait (2013), Dag Andersson Gallery, Norrköping- Sweden (2012), Al Khanji Gallery, Aleppo, Syria (2006), and Alwasity Gallery, Baghdad, Iraq. Sami was awarded the 2019 Hottinger Prize for Excellence, at the Mall Galleries in London. In 2016 Sami received The Undergraduate Award (The global winner of the Visual Art and Design Category), in Dublin, Ireland, and in 2015 The Culture Award from the Östergötland Region, Sweden. Sami’s works are included in the collections of the York Museum and The Government Art Collection in the UK. He lives and works in London.

Taus Makhacheva photo by Aleksandr Vainshtein for Eto Kavkaz

@tausmakhacheva

From 2002 to 2003, Taus Makhacheva studied at the London College of Communication, University of the Arts London. In 2006, she graduated in World Economics from the Russian State University for the Humanities. In 2007, she completed a BA program in Contemporary Art at Goldsmiths, University of London. From 2008 to 2009, she studied New Artistic Strategies at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Moscow. In 2013, she received a Master’s degree in Contemporary Art from the Royal College of Art in London.

In 2011, Makhacheva’s The Fast and the Furious was included in the main project of the 4th Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, which was curated by Peter Weibel. In the same year, she made it to the shortlist for the Kandinsky Prize (category: Media Art Project of the Year). She was awarded the Innovation Contemporary Art Prize (category: New Generation) in 2012. She took part in the Liverpool Biennial. In 2013, her work was exhibited at the Sharjah Biennial and in the special program of the Venice Biennale. In 2014, she was on the shortlist for the Innovation Prize (Best Regional Project of the Year with the exhibition Story Demands to be Continued) and won the Future of Europe prize at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Leipzig.

Her works are in the collections of Tate Modern, London; MuHKA, Antwerp; Moscow Museum of Modern Art, and National Centre for Contemporary Arts, Moscow; Sharjah Art Foundation; P.S. Gamzatova Dagestan Museum of Fine Art; Gazprombank Collection, Vehbi Koç Foundation, Istanbul; Yarat Foundation, Baku; Kadist Art Foundation, Paris; and San Francisco; the collections of the Uppsala Konstmuseum, and the Videosight Foundation, Turin, as well as many private collections in Russia and abroad. She lives and works in Moscow and Dagestan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

@susanstockwell
susanstockwell.co.uk

Susan Stockwell’s work takes many forms, from small studies to large scale sculptural installations, drawings, and collage. It is concerned primarily with transformation and with issues of geopolitics, mapping, trade, ecology, and history. The materials used are the everyday, domestic and industrial disposable products that pervade our lives. These materials are manipulated and transformed into works of art that are extraordinary.

Susan Stockwell gained an MA in sculpture from the Royal College of Art in 1993. Her works have appeared at exhibitions at galleries and museums all over the world including: the Tate Modern, the Victoria and Albert Museum in London, the Katonah and the Neuberger Museums of Art in the US, and the National Museum of China in Beijing. She has been awarded scholarships, grants, and commissions, such as a Visiting Arts Taiwan-England Artists Fellowship, and commissions from the University of Bedfordshire, Black Rock Investments, and the National Army Museum. She has taught extensively and taken part in residencies and projects in Europe, America, Australia, and Asia. Stockwell is based in London, in the UK.

varvara-shavrova-photo_Marion Galt

@varvaravshavrova
varvarashavrova.com

Varvara Shavrova is a visual artist and curator born in the USSR who lives and works in London and Dublin. In her practice of engaging memory, nostalgia and reflection, Shavrova creates installations that make connections between historic and current narratives, between the archival and the present.

Shavrova’s curatorial projects include ‘The Sea is the Limit’ exhibition at the York Art Gallery in the UK, ‘Giving Voice’ exhibition of the former president of Ireland Mary Robinson’s archive in Ballina library in County Mayo, Ireland, ‘Map Games: Dynamics of Change’ exhibition at the Today Art Museum in Beijing, the Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery in the UK and the CAOS Centre for Contemporary Arts in Terni, Italy, and ‘Through the Lens: New Media Art from Ireland’ exhibition at the BAMOIC Beijing Art Museum of the Imperial City.

Shavrova studied at the Moscow Polygraphic Institute and completed her MFA postgraduate programme at Goldsmiths, University of London. She received Fellowships and awards from Ballinglen Arts Foundation, British Council, Dublin City Council and Culture Ireland.

Public Programming

Nov. 10-11, 2019

The 8th Biennial Hamad bin Khalifa Symposium on Islamic Art: The Seas and the Mobility of Islamic Art

Nov. 10, 2019 ― 5:30 to 7 PM

Opening reception with curator Varvara Shavrova

Nov. 11, 2019 ― 12:30 to 13:30 PM

Qatar Foundation Art Trail: Guided Tour with curator Varvara Shavrova

Nov. 12, 2019 ― 12:30 to 13:30 PM

Artist talk by Varvara Shavrova for the Painting and Printmaking department

Video

Opening reception of 'The Sea is the Limit' exhibition

Taus Makhacheva, "Baida", 2017

Photo Gallery

Related Topics

error: Content is protected !!

Explore new perspectives on art and design from
our community and our international contributors

تعرف على معارضنا وفعالياتنا الحالية والسابقة